Regional Australia - Updates to RCB and Postcodes
My Australia

Latest Policies and News

Regional Australia – Updates to RCB and Postcodes

Share this Article

Legislative InstrumentF2017L01460 – IMMI 17/059: Regional Certifying Bodies and Regional Postcodes Instrument 2017

This Instrument specifies the postcodes for the areas of Australia defined as regional Australia, for migration purposes. Relevant Regional Certifying Bodies (RCB) are also listed.


Regional Certifying Bodies

 Schedule 1 of the Instrument indicates these changes to RCBs below. All other RCB from the previous Instrument remain.


State Removed Added


·Regional Development Australia Far South Coast · Southern NSW – Regional Development Australia, Far South Coast
NT ·Department of Business and Employment ·Department of Trade, Business and Innovation





·Central Qld – Winston Shire Council

· Central Qld – Regional Development Australia Central Queensland,

·North Qld – Cape York Peninsula Development Association Inc,

·North Qld – Gulf Savannah Development Inc,

·North Qld – Townsville Enterprise Limited









·Department of Manufacturing Innovation, Trade, Resources and Energy · Department of State Development
Tas ·Department of Economic Development, Tourism and the Arts · Department of State Development





· Department of Business and Innovation (Ballarat, Bedigo, Geelong, Mildura, Shepparton, Traralgon, Wannagaratta and Wodonga) ·Department of Economic Development, Jobs, Transport and Resources (Ballarat, Bendigo, Geelong, Mildura, Shepparton, Traralgon, Wangaratta and Wodonga)
WA ·      Gascoyne Development Commission,

·      Great Southern Development Commission

·Kimberley Development Commission

·Mid West Development Commission

·Peel Development Commission

·Pilbara Development Commission

·Skilled Migration Western Australia

· South West Development Commission

·Department of Training and Workforce Development
ACT · Unchanged: ACT Economic Development Directorate ·Unchanged: ACT Economic Development Directorate


Regional Australia

  • In subregulation 5.19(7), every postcode stated in Schedule 2 of this Instrument is described as regional
  • Only Western Australia postcodes have been changed. Postcodes in all other areas remain the same.
  • Perth metropolitan area is excluded from this Instrument. The following postcodes are stated as only regional:
    • 6041 – 6044
    • 6083 – 6084
    • 6121 – 6126
    • 6200 – 6799
  • This Instrument begins on 17 November 2017. IMMI 16/045 is repealed as a result.

We at Mygration are here to provide advice and guidance on your migration needs. Please contact us if you would like to discuss this with us.


Comments are closed.

Points Calculator Take Visa Assessment Contact Us